Gateway to the Big South Fork

Scott County receives $100,000 broadband grant

May 3, 2024

NASHVILLE, Tenn.  |  State Sen. Ken Yager on Friday announced $100,000 in broadband funding for Scott County.

Yager, R-Kingston, announced the funding as part of 14 major grants that were awarded throughout the 12th Senatorial District, which includes Campbell, Clay, Fentress, Macon, Morgan, Overton, Pickett and Roane counties, in addition to Scott County.

“I am pleased to announce that our district is receiving $5.4 million in grant funding,” said Yager. “Broadband enables access to essential resources and provides critical infrastructure to create jobs and rebuild our economy to ensure that our region will be highly competitive for generations to come. I appreciate Gov. Lee and ECD for their work to deliver these grant funds to our communities.”

The grants are part of four new programs launched by the TN Dept. of Economic & Community Development. Specifically, Scott County’s funding comes from a Broadband Ready Community grant. Other grants in the area under the same program included $100,000 for the City of Jellico, $56,990 for Clay County, $81,848.08 for Fentress County, $58,604.47 for Macon County, $100,000 for Morgan County, $93,564.62 for Overton County, and $52,573.55 for Pickett County.

According to Yager’s office, the BRC grants are used by local governments to support community-based digital skills training, public Wi-Fi projects, and distribution of free or low-cost devices and marketing for low-cost internet plans.

Separately, the University of Tennessee received $512,916 in funding through a Digital Skills, Education & Workforce grant to serve Scott, Campbell, Morgan and Roane counties. The DSEW funds are used for training and education programs to advance digital skills and workforce development, with the intention of creating a pipeline for well-paying digital jobs.

The deadline for project completion is Dec. 31, 2026.

Last modified: May 3, 2024

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *