Gateway to the Big South Fork

Jamie Byrd appointed new EMS director

March 24, 2021

HUNTSVILLE — By a vote of 12-2 on Tuesday, Feb. 16, the Scott County Board of County Commissioners appointed Jamie Byrd as the new director of the Scott County Ambulance Service.

Mr. Byrd had served as EMS director in an interim capacity since the retirement of Jim Reed in 2020. He is a veteran paramedic with the ambulance service.

There were two candidates to declare an official interest in the vacancy. The second was Rick Russ, a former paramedic at the ambulance service and a former member of the Scott County Board of County Commissioners.

Supporting Mr. Byrd were Commissioners Donnie Bowlin, Patti Brown, Sheila Buttram, Benny Carson, Harold Chambers, Blue Day, David Jeffers, Jerried Jeffers, Sam Lyles, Kenny Morrow, Mike Slaven and Paul Strunk.

Supporting Mr. Russ were Commissioners Kenny Chadwell and Shonda Gray.

Last modified: March 24, 2021

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *